• Categories

  • Archives

Petition Statement

We the undersigned welcome the Rudd government’s support for increasing the number of skilled high school teachers in the area of mathematics. We suggest that while encouraging more graduates to take up full time teaching positions the government provide support for joint school and university positions.

These positions, intended for PhD graduates who also hold a DipEd, would involve part time teaching at a high school and part time research at a local university. This set of non-traditional jobs would be perfect for those graduates who, for a variety of reasons often relating to their family, are unable to undertake the traditional academic path. The schools and their students would benefit both from the increase in their staff but also the stronger ties to universities. University departments would likewise benefit by the inclusion of these researchers who would otherwise often leave academia altogether.

The current harsh lines drawn between secondary and tertiary education are only a disadvantage to us as a larger community. Positions such as these will provide a badly needed bridge between to two areas while bolstering Australia’s research performance.

To sign this petition click on the comments link below.

16 Responses

  1. I support this petition

    Melissa Tacy
    Graduate Student
    Australian National University

  2. I support this petition.

    Ingrid Chen
    Graduate Student
    Australian National University

  3. I support this petition.

    Peijie Lin
    Graduate Student
    Australian National University

  4. I support this petition

  5. I support this petition.

    Centre for Mathematics and its Applications
    Mathematical Sciences Institute
    Australian National University
    ACT 0200, Canberra
    Australia
    http://wwwmaths.anu.edu.au/~lamichh/

  6. I support this petition.

  7. I support this petition.

    Paul Bryan
    Graduate Student
    Australian National University

  8. I support this proposal because I think that it would potentially be of benefit to those who would take up the dual positions as well as being very important for the experience of school students, particularly in mathematics, with which I am most familiar. The excitement in mathematics and in other fields of study is that of discovery, and I would expect this to be enhanced when school students have access to people who’ve recently completed PhDs in their discipline, i.e. made some original contribution to their area. I expect that there would be benefits for me when I am lecturing within the University system, to have students coming into first year University, who have experienced such a school environment.

    Dr Judy-anne Osborn
    Postdoctoral Fellow / Lecturer
    Australian National University

  9. This petition has my support.

  10. I support the proposal. It would benefit both high-school teachers and their students.

    Richard Brent
    ARC Federation Fellow

  11. I support the petition

    Srinivasa Rao Subramanya
    Graduate Student
    Australian National University

  12. I support the petition

    Joel Mortimer
    Graduate
    Australian National University

  13. Excellent proposal

  14. I support this petition. I worked at UNSW at ADFA for a semester as a study leave arrangement and the experience was excellent and opened up areas in my teaching. If this position achieves that then it is worthwhile.

  15. Having been involved in the setup and delivery of mathematics through the ANU Secondary College Mathematics program I would strongly support this petition. Having witnessed PhD and Honours level students teach in this program I have first hand experience of the benefits of this model to both the teacher and students.

  16. I support this proposal.

Leave a comment